top of page

Travel Trivia


I'm thinking of starting a collection. I've always resisted the urge to share my hard earned wages with the overcharging airport industry ($2.99 for a bottle of water!). But now I find myself in need of more tea cups for my many visitors. Somehow that set of 4 that comes with the plates, saucers and bowls keeps getting smaller and smaller. What better way to grow my dishware than overpaying for a cabinet of mismatched ceramic cups.

Just think... I could pick up a mug in each airport and city I visit. Although, airports barely count as a visit. They always have mugs with the city name on them. Or I could go exploring in Monticello, MN and Loxahatchee, FL to find actual souvenirs and unique creations - but they must have the city name on them. I can't trust myself to remember where I got them otherwise. The more I think about it, Minneapolis and West Palm Beach, may have to do.

Is this really how I want to spend $10 each time I take off? That could reach hundreds of dollars per year. The point of my travel is to make money, not donate it to the TSA machine. let's say 6 mugs on amazon for $30 or $5 each - colorful, classy and matching my décor. 1 mug at IAH $10 - uninspired, corny and maybe broken by the time I get it home. Hmmm???

What about the time spent. I barely have time to get my rental car, find my hotel, eat and prepare for the "exciting" day ahead. Where will I find time to go cup shopping. The airport is looking more and more like my source.

All that having been said. I think I'll give a try. I forget to take pictures. I forget where I've been, last month or even last week. What better conversation piece for visitors than a cold or hot beverage and a story about their favorite restaurant, visit, family or faux pas in that city. You thought I was going to tell the stories. Not likely. Remember, I can barely recall where I've been. Nor do I have time to find out anything interesting about it. Now I do love to tell travel war stories. But what I really enjoy is hearing what other people like about a place where I would never want to live. I love to hear about what I miss at 70 mph via GPS. Just maybe, I will get a good restaurant, walking path or cousin to go see.

Mug - $10. Sharin- Priceless.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page